Label analysisGrade CKibble (Extruded)

Dr. Dog

Dr. Dog Puppy

Editor ingredient insight

Dr. Dog Puppy lists salmon, lamb and dried pollock first. It can suit puppies that tolerate mixed animal ingredients and grains.

The official label provides 4,320 kcal/kg, at least 1.4% calcium and 1.1% phosphorus. The ratio of two guaranteed minima is not the measured calcium-to-phosphorus ratio or proof of large-breed growth suitability.

Soybean meal, colostrum and crab shell are also included.

Fresh-meat leadPlant booster present
Illustration of salmon beside a dog-food bowl
Primary protein ingredient · Salmon

01. NUTRIENT PROFILE

Key nutrients & mineral profile

As-fed basis
Disclosed protein and fat
Protein 28%Fat 7.9%Other 64.1%Other includes moisture, ash and remaining components.
Position within the same processing type

Compare protein, fat and energy density in low, typical and high bands.

Protein positionTypical

This food sits around the typical crude protein range among extruded foods.

Fat positionLower

This food is on the lower side for crude fat among extruded foods.

Calorie densityHigher

This food is on the higher side for calorie density among extruded foods. The same serving can provide more energy, so check portion guidance.

Key guaranteed nutrientsAs-fed
Calcium1.4%
Phosphorus1.1%
Crude fiber4.13%
Omega-3Not disclosed
Omega-6Not disclosed

Undisclosed values are not treated as zero.

02. INGREDIENT QUALITY & DISCLOSURE

Ingredient assessment · 50 disclosed ingredients

The top ingredients give this recipe a strong first protein read, so the ingredient section starts from a favorable position.

Salmon ingredient illustration
Primary protein ingredient · Salmon
B4.5/6Ingredient gradeGood
Ingredient #1 · SalmonTop
Fresh Meat
Ingredient #2 · LambTop
Fresh Meat
Ingredient #3 · 황태Mid
Other
Ingredient #1Top

Salmon

Salmon is a named fresh meat ingredient. The animal source is clearly identified. It reads as an top-tier protein source.

Ingredient #2Top

Lamb

Lamb is a named fresh meat ingredient. The animal source is clearly identified. It reads as an top-tier protein source.

Ingredient #3Mid

황태

황태 is disclosed, but its role is not explicit enough to count as a strong quality signal. It reads as an mid-tier ingredient.

Full disclosed ingredient listIn disclosed order
Salmon — Primary positive ingredientsLamb — Primary positive ingredients황태 — Neutral ingredientsOrganic Sweet Potato — Neutral ingredients유기농 당근 — Neutral ingredientsOrganic Barley — Neutral ingredientsOrganic Rice — Neutral ingredients유기농 호박 — Neutral ingredients유기농 블루베리 — Neutral ingredients유기농 딸기 — Neutral ingredients유기농 토마토 — Neutral ingredients유기농 녹두 — Neutral ingredients유기농 메밀 — Neutral ingredientsOrganic Brown Rice — Neutral ingredientsOrganic Pumpkin Seeds — Neutral ingredientsOrganic Sunflower Seeds — Neutral ingredientsOrganic Soybean Meal — High-caution ingredients유기농 아마씨(유기농 원료 76.03% 사용) — Neutral ingredients청국장 분말 — Neutral ingredientsDicalcium Phosphate — Neutral ingredientsCalcium Carbonate — Neutral ingredientsVitamin A — Neutral ingredientsVitamin D3 — Neutral ingredientsVitamin E — Support positive ingredientsVitamin B1 — Neutral ingredientsVitamin B2 — Neutral ingredientsVitamin B6 — Neutral ingredientsVitamin B12 — Neutral ingredientsNiacin — Neutral ingredientsBiotin — Support positive ingredientsFolic acid — Neutral ingredientsVitamin C — Neutral ingredientsMn — Neutral ingredientsFe — Neutral ingredientsCu — Neutral ingredientsZn — Neutral ingredientsCo — Neutral ingredientsSe — Neutral ingredientsd-토코페롤(혼합형) — Neutral ingredients혼합유산균 — Neutral ingredients초유 — Neutral ingredientsL-시스테인 — Neutral ingredients정제어유(오메가 지방산 함유) — Support positive ingredientsFructooligosaccharides — Neutral ingredientsYucca Extract — Support positive ingredientsMSM — Support positive ingredients게껍질(글루코사민) — Support positive ingredients파시플라레 — Neutral ingredientsTaurine — Support positive ingredientsCholine Chloride — Support positive ingredients
Primary positive ingredientsSupport positive ingredientsAlternative proteinNeutral ingredientsCaution ingredientsHigh-caution ingredients
Protein sourceIngredient guide

Processed plant protein after the top 3

Animal protein · Salmon (#1), Lamb (#2)

Plant protein · Organic Soybean Meal (#17)

The protein number includes processed plant protein support.

Even when it appears later, the protein number is read more conservatively.

Included support ingredientsNutrient guide
MSMJoint support ingredientGlucosamineJoint support ingredientTaurineHeart support ingredient

03. CHOOSING FOR YOUR DOG

What to consider before feeding

Salmon, Lamb supply animal protein at the start of the ingredient list. Organic Sweet Potato, Organic Barley supply carbohydrate energy. The recipe combines animal protein sources with carbohydrate sources.

Organic Soybean Meal supplement plant protein further down the list, after the first three ingredients. The crude-protein figure includes both animal and plant contributions.

Some protein sources are not fully identified, which limits choices that require excluding a specific protein.

What works well in this food

  • The first two ingredients are both species-named animal ingredients.
  • Crude protein does not drop into a clearly low band.
  • Top ingredients do not show a prominent FDA-investigated non-hereditary DCM ingredient profile.

Check before feeding

  • Phosphorus is 1.1% on the label, at or above 1%. Senior dogs or dogs with kidney concerns should have phosphorus restriction reviewed with a veterinarian before using it as a staple food.
  • Processed plant protein appears after the top 3, so some protein support is still built into the label number.
  • The first ingredient is a species-named fresh meat, but the full top-ingredient profile still differs from a fresh-meat-led premium pattern.

When this food fits your dog

Among foods made the same way, protein is typical, fat is lower, and calorie density is higher. This combination provides more energy per gram. Compare it when smaller portions need to supply calories, and adjust grams first for a dog prone to weight gain. Higher calories do not establish a higher animal-protein share.

Consider it first when

  • Public-data-first comparison
  • Baseline shortlist building
  • Conservative first-pass screening

Choose another food first when

  • You want a stronger ingredient-quality story first
  • You need dog-specific fit instead of public-review screening

High calorie density remains the clearest trade-off here.

04. COMPARE FOODS

Smart lamb / salmon alternatives

Exact protein-type matches come first, then close protein-family matches fill the comparison.

05. MANUFACTURING & DISCLOSURE

Manufacturer background & public information

Dr. Dog background

Founded in 2013 in South Korea.

Disclosure confidence D

Only basic guaranteed analysis is visible, so deeper nutrition comparison stays hard to trust.

Recall information

The English-language public recall sources checked here are not enough to make a confident recall call for this brand.

May 12, 2026

Final word

Interpret this for my dog

The food-first public score is only the starting point. Once your dog’s activity, weight goals, life stage, and health status are applied, the recommendation order and interpretation can change.

There is enough here to keep the food in comparison, but not enough to stop comparing yet.